# Minutes of the Regular Village Board Meeting Village of Oostburg, 1140 Minnesota Avenue, Oostburg, WI Monday, December 11, 2023

#### **ATTENDANCE**

The following members of the Village Board were present: President Brian Hilbelink, Trustees Jim Davies, Steve Eggebeen, Phil Mentink, Carl Roethel, and Glenn Wynveen. Peter Scheppmann was absent. Also present were Jon Kuhlow, Wendy Bjorklund, and Clerk Amy Wilterdink.

President Hilbelink called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

#### COMPLIANCE WITH OPEN MEETINGS LAW

The Village Clerk certified that the agenda was posted on December 7, 2023 at 10:00 am at the Municipal Building, Post Office, Oostburg Public Library, and the Village website.

**AGENDA** - Motion by Wynveen seconded by Mentink to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

#### PUBLIC INPUT

The Board accepted Brad Riddiough's letter of resignation as Community Resource Officer.

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

Motion by Wynveen seconded by Eggebeen to accept the minutes of November 13, 2023, Regular Board meeting. Motion carried.

#### **CLERK'S REPORT/FINANCIALS**

- Amy voided check 52304 payable to Packer Fastener dated 4/10/23 and reissued replacement check to vendor.
- Amy explained check to William Guzzetta was for land purchased from Oostburg Family Dentistry in 2001 when the street was widened. The amount was to be deducted from the deferred assessment. Attorney Bauer advised to make the payment.
- Motion by Wynveen seconded by Eggebeen to approve financial reports, including checks numbered 52714-52786. Motion carried.

#### FINANCE - Jim Davies, Chairperson

- Employee Holiday Bonuses
  - Motion by Davies, seconded by Eggebeen to approve holiday bonuses in the amount of \$300 for full-time and \$75 for part-time employees. Motion carried.
- Appointment of 2024-2025 Election Workers Else' Allen, Bonnie Huenink, Lorraine LeMahieu, Rosemary LeMahieu, Dixie Lemkuil, Terry Lemkuil, LuAnn Mentink, Brian Nyenhuis, Debbie Nyenhuis, Julie Sonnentag, Gail Stokdyk, Colleen Swart, Jody VanEss, Jane Weavers, and Lauran Wrubbel.
  - $\circ$   $\,$  Motion by Davies seconded by Roethel to approve appointment of poll workers. Motion carried.

- 2024 TID/Water/Sewer Budget Approval
  - Motion by Eggebeen seconded by Roethel to accept 2024 Budgets for water, sewer, and TIDs. Motion carried.
- Operator's License for Reagan Hilbelink at Mentink's Market
  - Motion by Davies seconded by Roethel to accept the application. Motion carried.

SAFETY - Carl Roethel, Chairperson

• First Responders response regarding letter – Carl reported a good response from letter sent. There is enough interest to start a class at LTC in January.

**PROPERTY** - Pete Scheppmann, Chairperson

- Library payroll Brian will discuss late timesheet submissions with Pete.
- Pole Shed the DPW started preparing the yard for the new pole shed.

STREETS - Philip Mentink, Chairperson

- The County is reviewing curb and gutter numbers for special assessments.
- Discussion regarding traffic at Center & Heritage and Center & Business Drive. The County should provide signage.

UTILITIES – Steve Eggebeen, Chairperson

- Steve reported that the water tower washing is on the list for spring.
- The treatment plant ditch equipment is back in service.
- DPW is ready for new water meters to arrive.

## MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS -

- Water/sewer lines are ready in Sunrise Park for the new bathroom building.
- Carl communicated a fire occurred at Superior apartments. Over 3" water was in the apartment. Sprinklers work good.
- If you have iPad issues, come on Thursday morning. Our IT rep will be here at 9 am.

# PRESIDENT'S REPORT – Brian Hilbelink

- Request for shelving unit in closet for election supplies.
  - Motion by Wynveen seconded by Davies approving \$600 for storage shelves.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Wynveen seconded by Eggebeen to adjourn at 6:37 pm. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Wilterdink, Clerk