Minutes of the Regular Village Board Meeting Village of Oostburg, 1140 Minnesota Avenue, Oostburg, WI Monday, June 12, 2023

ATTENDANCE

The following members of the Village Board were present: President Brian Hilbelink, Trustees Jim Davies, Steve Eggebeen, Phil Mentink, Carl Roethel, Pete Scheppmann, and Glenn Wynveen. Also present were Tim Rohrer, Gerald DePagter, Lee Tenpas, Sandy Tenpas, Rick Wetzel, Jon Kuhlow, Ron Oonk, Rich Neerhof, Cal Wynveen, Tracey Brill, Bob Schindel, Dennis TenHaken, Larry Borucki, LuAnn Harmelink, Jan Kane, Jana Scheppmann, Bruce Nyenhuis, Ed Kane, Mark Hesselink, Nate Voskuil, Lynn TeWinkel, Ronald Westerbeke, David TerMaat, Wendell Mentink, Lamont Rauwerdink, Emily Dulmes, Ken Beilke, Jerry Weavers, Brandon Wisse, Roger Oonk, Owen Veldboom, Jason Stewart, Jay Huibregtse, Roger Buyze, Alex Rojan, Frank Callahan, Malachi Callahan, Ann Dykstra, Anne Nelson, Dennis Nelson, Fred Rose, Sgt Jesse Smith, David TeWinkel, Connie Felde, Sandy Brill, Mike Brill, Jason Dulmes, Andy Waranka, Mark Vis, Kay DePagter, Mary Oonk, Marie Veldboom, Krisi Mondloch, Al Mondloch, Amy Rose, David Rose, Faye Mentink, Jo Wallner, Keith Wallner, Jeff Huettner, Jeff Holler, Kristen Rice, Jake Schurr, Joan Hilbelink, Roger Hilbelink, Gary Ten Haken, Tom Bohm, Lora Bell, Jacob Boldt, Gail Aguirre, Regina Hartman, Ryan Birenbaum, Joely Buss, Tom B from Fredonia, Robert Nelson, Brad Riddiough, Glenn Harmelink, Scott Burgin, Wendy Bjorklund, Ron Noll, Laura Boldt, Mandie Parrish, Sean Brandon, Cliff Browne, Lisa Brusse, Cathy Fuentes, Randy Buss, Scott DeRuyter, Caleb DeRuyter, Joel Ternes, Adam Koepsell, Greg Schappe and Clerk Amy Wilterdink.

President Hilbelink called the meeting to order at 6:03 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

COMPLIANCE WITH OPEN MEETINGS LAW

The Village Clerk certified that the agenda was posted on June 9, 2023 at 10:00 am at the Municipal Building, Post Office, Oostburg Public Library, and the Village website.

<u>AGENDA</u>

Motion by Roethel seconded by Wynveen to approve the agenda. Motion carried 7-0

PUBLIC INPUT

ATV-UTV discussion – the Village Board listened to feedback from the following: Dave TerMaat, Dennis TenHaken, Tim Rohrer, Ron Oonk, Ron Noll, David TeWinkle, Sean Brandon, Owen Veldboom, Roger Oonk, Jana Scheppmann, Larry Borucki, Brad Riddiough, Lisa Brusse, Gary TenHaken, LuAnn Harmelink, Gail Aguirre, Alex Rojan, Robert Nelson, Tom Bohm, Greg Schappe, Ann Dykstra, Bruce Nyenhuis, Cliff Brown, Jacob Boldt, Jake Schurr, and Jason Stewart.

SAFETY - Carl Roethel, Chairperson

ATV-UTV Ordinance

- Motion by Roethel seconded by Wynveen to adopt the ordinance as drafted.
- Roll Call Vote: Roethel yes; Scheppmann no; Wynveen no; Davies yes; Eggebeen no; Mentink no; Hilbelink no.
- Motion rejected 2-5.

MEETING MINUTES/FINANCIALS

• Motion by Wynveen seconded by Scheppmann to approve the minutes of May 8, 2023, Plan Commission meeting. Motion carried 7-0

- Motion by Mentink seconded by Davies to approve the minutes of May 8, 2023, Board of Review Meet & Adjourn meeting. Motion carried 7-0
- Motion by Wynveen seconded by Scheppmann to approve the minutes of May 8, 2023, Regular Board meeting. Motion carried 7-0
- Motion by Wynveen seconded by Roethel to approve the minutes of May 24, 2023, Joint Review Board meeting. Motion carried 7-0
- Amy reported that check #52377, 52361, and 52448 were voided. Motion by Roethel seconded by Davies to approve financial reports, including checks numbered 52393-52454. Motion carried 7-0

SAFETY - Carl Roethel, Chairperson

- Snow/Ice Violation Fee Schedule Resolution
 - Motion by Roethel seconded by Davies to approve fee schedule for snow/ice violation. Motion carried 7-0
- New Fire Insurance for First Responders
 - Motion by Roethel seconded by Davies to give Fire Partner representatives from this Board the authority to approve insurance change with Oostburg Fire Partners. Motion carried 7-0
- Crossing Guard Contract discussion regarding cost of school patrol. Refer to Safety Committee.

FINANCE - Jim Davies, Chairperson

- Alcohol License Applications for Judi's, Mentink's Market, Kwik Trip, and Speedup 10
 - Motion by Davies seconded by Wynveen to approve licenses after bills are paid by Speedup. Motion carried 7-0
- Tobacco License Application for Speedup 10 and Kwik Trip
 - Motion by Davies seconded by Scheppmann to approve licenses after bills are paid by Speedup. Motion carried 7-0
- Operator's Permit Applications for Victoria Malueg, Lynette Lammers, Jay Mentink, Matthew Mentink, Ashley McCabe, Kimberly Meulbroek, Kristen Dang, Faye Mentink, Jacob Ratliff, Christopher Conradt, Mia Dzwonkowski, Annalyce Salapat, Despina Fergadakis, Cali Olds, Marcus Polster, Tracy Couch, Valerie Lohr, Julie Sarver, Kimberly Thein, Jennifer Weiley, Michelle Bohlman, Amy Buechel, Joel Remberg, Wendy Sippel, Lola Caldwell, John Fonk, Kayla Kessler, Dale Schueller, John Bellmann, Patti DeZoute, Sarah Meyer, Kyra Albrecht, Scott Van Driest, Iain Cornette, Zach Irish, Lisa Burmesch
 - \circ $\,$ Motion by Davies seconded by Roethel to approve operator's licenses. Motion carried 7-0 $\,$

PROPERTY - Pete Scheppmann, Chairperson

- Library Board Member Terms Jill DuMez and Janice Schmidt
 - Motion by Scheppmann seconded by Eggebeen to accept continuing terms for Jill DuMez and Janice Schmidt. Motion carried 7-0
- Chairs for Board Room
 - Motion by Scheppmann seconded by Eggebeen to accept bid document for new seating for Village Board room. Motion carried 7-0
- Cleaning Contract Review refer to Property Committee to review the contract.

STREETS - Philip Mentink, Chairperson

- Streets project construction update most streets are on schedule. Small delay on N 10th St due to WE gas replacing mains.
- Sidewalk Maintenance Update will be done by the end of summer.
- Business Park Signalization Plans traffic lights job will be put to bid by our engineer. Carl will talk to County about striping at Heritage and Center.
 - Motion by Roethel seconded by Mentink to move ahead with proposal for signalization at Center Ave and Business Park Dr. Motion carried 7-0
- DeMaster Road Agreement from Town of Holland Phil sent to Attorney Bauer for review.

UTILITIES - Steve Eggebeen, Chairperson

- CMAR Resolution (Compliance Maintenance Annual Report) Motion by Eggebeen seconded by Scheppmann to approve CMAR report. Motion carried 7-0
- Easement in Business Park Motion by Eggebeen seconded by Mentink to abandon rest of easement and sign a release of 20 ft easement. Motion carried 7-0

ZONING - Glenn Wynveen, Chairperson

- OAA proposal Veterans Park shed and Dirkse Park shed
 - Motion by Wynveen seconded by Davies to allow OAA to put storage shed at Veterans Park on concrete slab working with DPW for placement and hold off Dirkse Park shed. Motion carried 7-0
- Pre-heat Expansion Plans Plan commission approved siding material sample.
 - Motion by Wynveen seconded by Eggebeen to accept the Plan Commission approval for Pre-Heat Expansion Plans pending engineer's approval. Motion carried 7-0
- Fence Ordinance refer to Zoning Committee.
- Ordinances/Signage for Dirkse Field and Eastfield Park there are signs in Veterans Park but no ordinance pertaining to dogs and/or golfing. Refer to Parks Committee.

MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

• Property Tax Revaluation – Assessors are reviewing property values this summer. Amy will communicate in Lakeshore Weekly and Facebook.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT – Brian Hilbelink

- Culver's groundbreaking was on June 5 another great business coming to Village.
- The new Eastfield Park opened on June 2, and future improvements are expected.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Wynveen seconded by Davies to adjourn at 8:05 pm. Motion carried 7-0

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Wilterdink, Clerk